I don’t have the time for that. . .

Hour glassHow many times have you said or heard someone say, “I don’t have the time for that”?

I’m guessing you have said it more often than you care to admit. Come on stop kidding yourself you know what I’m talking about. I know that I have said it many more times than I would confess to.

I get it, you’re busy, hell we’re all busy. Busy being busy, doing this and doing that, so in reality, maybe you don’t have the time for that.

I’ve told myself over and over again . . . “I don’t have the time for that”

I don’t have the time to run. I don’t have the time to write. I don’t have the time to play golf or to even relax. Blah, blah, blah. . . .

Time for the ol’ ZimMaster let you in on a little secret. . .You do have the time and so do I. You just need to take the time or make the time for the things that are truly important in your life.

Don’t believe me, check this out . . .

Mrs. Z and I always go to the neighborhood pool on the 4th of July. It’s something that we have done for more years than I care to mention. The challenges is, so does every other person in our neighborhood. To get a lounge chair, you have to arrive early. By early I mean at least ½ hour to 45 minutes before the pool even opens.

As I’m sitting here I decide that I might as well check out a few of my favorite sales bloggers. With as busy as I have been, I have really neglected my reading and writing so I thought I would take advantage while I was sitting here doing nothing. Ah, the power of a cell phone . . .

I decided to go to my good friend, Tim Mushey’s, new site. Believe it or not he is extremely busy and yet he found the time to create a whole new site. I’ve been meaning to check it out since he went live but, you guess it, I’ve been busy.

Next I check out the latest from David Brock. If you haven’t visited “Partners in Excellence”, I highly recommended you do so. In today’s post, he wrote about Sales Leadership Dysfunction. But more about that in a later post.

The net of all this is that you do have the time. You just have to find the time.

I’ve been telling myself that I just don’t have the time for that. I don’t have the time to play golf. I don’t have the time to run. I don’t have the time to write. I don’t have the time for. . . Well it time that I make the time. These things are what make me who I am. They make me happy and they bring balance to my life.

If you don’t find the time to do the things that make you happy, before you know it, your time will be up.

You can always do what an old manager of mine use to say, if you don’t have the time . . . . Sleep faster”

As a side note I wrote this post while I was sitting in line. Go figure . . .

Happy 4th of July.

Categories: Sales

2 replies

  1. Bruce, thanks for the shout out. It’s amazing what we can find the time to do. It starts with valuing our time, focusing on what’s important, and saying no to things that waste our time.

Leave a Reply

