Commitment?  I wonder . . .

commitment2

In the world today it seems like we use the word commitment constantly.  The problem is, the word commitment means many different things to different people. I guess that’s why Commitment is currently in the top 1% of lookups and is the 242nd most popular word on Merriam-Webster.com.

So I wonder, what exactly is commitment?

We know that commitment involves, time, effort, passion, and persistence.

But what is it exactly? Is it a vow, a promise, a pledge, or an “all in” leap of faith?

Commitment?

When I personally stop and think about commitment, I wonder . . .

Do I really know the true meaning?  Am I interpreting it the way the originator of the word really wanted it to be?

Do I know what commitment looks like, feel like, or even smells like?  I wonder . . .

When I think of the things, the people, the goals that I say and believe that I am committed to, am I really committed? I think I am. But I wonder . . .

Maybe I am, maybe I’m not. I ask myself, is there another level? Maybe another level of commitment that exists that I wasn’t even aware of. Is there a way to “kick it up a notch”?

Perhaps there is some form of solitude and serenity waiting for me if I could just break through that proverbial wall. Like the distance runner that hits “the wall” at mile 20 of the marathon. He struggles, has self-doubt, and even considers giving up and throwing in the towel, yet he persist. Why?  Commitment . . .

We say we have commitments; marriage, kids, career. We make commitments to others and to ourselves. We commit to do this or don’t do that, to change, to accomplish whatever. But are we truly committed?  I wonder . . .

To me, one of the best definition of commitment comes from The Urban dictionary . . .  

Commitment is what transforms the promise into reality. It is the words that speak  boldly of your intentions and the actions which speak louder than the words. . . . Commitment is the stuff character is made of . . . It is the daily triumph of integrity over skepticism.

When you look at the commitments you make or have, are you truly committed? Are you “all in” with a “whatever it takes” attitude or is it more of a half-hearted empty promise? Do you have what it takes to transform your promise into reality?

I wonder. . .  Do you?

Feel free to share your thoughts and comments on what commitment means to you.

Categories: Views / Opinions

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

