Gone A.W.O.L . . .

You can't just go all AWOL

You can’t just go all AWOL

 

For those of you that follow my blog you have probably noticed that I have been noticeably absent for the last couple of weeks. A few people have actually sent me emails wondering what’s going on. Was I on vacation? Is everything ok? One person even wrote that based on my last post he was concerned.

No need to be concerned. I was simply A.W.O.L

 

If you are unfamiliar with the term, A.W.O.L. or Absent Without Official Leave, is a term used in the United States Military to describe a soldier or other military member who has left his or her post without permission.

Well in this case I gave myself permission. Was it a vacation? Not officially. It was more of a mental vacation.

I just needed sometime to step back and re-access. I needed some me time to regroup, refocus, and reenergize.

You see I wasn’t doing the things that I normally do. I got out of my routine. I wasn’t eating right, I wasn’t exercising, basically, I wasn’t taking care of myself. I was neglecting myself and as a result those around me.

I let me situation, my concerns, my worries and my stress level affect everything that was important to me and my life.

But this post isn’t about me, it’s about realizing that you aren’t some super hero with super powers that can be all things to all people. You need to find the balance and finding it starts with you.

You have to take care of yourself mentality, emotionally, physically and spiritally.

Sometimes you need to step back and realize that  if you don’t take care of yourself you can’t take of the things that you need to take care of. Your business will suffer your freindship will suffer, and the relationships that matter most, those with your family, will also suffer.

Focusing on what you are doing is a lot more important than focusing on what other people might be doing. They can wait. You, and what is truly important to you, cannot.

Don’t you forget about the little things that are important to you. Don’t forget the balance! Make sure that you take the time to do the things that make you who you are. It  all starts with taking care of YOU!

Categories: Views / Opinions

Tags: , ,

2 replies

  1. Good for you and welcome back Bruce

Leave a Reply

