Technology Tuesday

th-1

Last week in my post “What’s New”, I talked about changing things up, about trying new things and taking a new approach. Part of my new approach, and in keeping with my mantra of “Continuous Innovation and Continuous Improvement, I have decided to try something new on Tuesdays. Starting today, Tuesdays will hereby be known as “Technology Tuesday”.

So why, “Technology Tuesday”?

First of all I personally love technology. It’s something that I am passionate about and there is some really cool technology in our world today. Secondly, writing about it is a way for me to expand my knowledge base. It’s an opportunity to better understand the role technology plays in our lives, from both a personal and professional standpoint. Finally, I like to think that I am fairly “tech savvy” so this is my way to keep up with the times and to stay relevant in today’s business world.

It’s amazing how much modern technology has changed our world. In the past quarter century, we have gone from a paper-based society to almost exclusively a digital world. Why you may not think that much about it, if you take a few moments you can see the impact for yourself. Let me give you a brief example.

This morning, I was up early. The house was quite (which for my house in unusual) and as I was sitting here drinking my morning pot of coffee, I began thinking about all the technology that I use on a daily basis. I’m not a techno geek by any stretch of the imagination, but as I said earlier, I do consider myself a “tech savvy” guy.

My day starts off as I grab my iPhone (which serves as my alarm clock) off the nightstand heading down for coffee. Once down the stairs, I check my multiple accounts for emails. Take it from someone who has missed a stair or two in his day, wait until you are actually down the stairs before checking your messages. With coffee in hand I switch off the iPhone for the iPad to hit the social media circuit. I currently utilize, LinkedIn, Twitter, Google +, Facebook, and Instagram (aka, the New Facebook).

After finishing off the last of the coffee it’s a quick shower then I into my office. Logging on to my Mac, its a quick review of the morning headlines (whatever happened to the morning PAPER) then a stop to update my personal website. I then click on the link to my blog, check the stats, followed by posting my latest ramblings. After that, I stop by a few of my favorite websites to catch up on some of the blogs I follow. One more quick look at Twitter then upstairs to get dressed for the work day. Believe it or not, this is all completed before 8:00 in the morning. I haven’t even mentioned the technology used at work.

So why Technology Tuesday? It’s simple, there is plenty to talk and write about. I plan on writing about all types of technology, from both a personal and professional standpoint. From Big Data to process based business applications to really cool apps for your smartphone. Given this is primarily a sales related blog, I will also write about sales enabled technology.

So there you have it. If you have a passion for technology the way I do, stop by every Tuesday for my views on technology.

How much technology do you utilize on a daily basis?

Thoughts, Comments?

Categories: Technology

Tags:

Leave a Reply

