Determination . . . Do you have it?

images

In late December of 2010, after some prodding from a friend, I made a decision to start writing this blog. It wasn’t an easy decision as I have always kept my writing to myself. My pre-blog writing was more personal in nature where I would scribble down my rambling thoughts after a long run. (gotta love that endorphin high)

January 4, 2011, I posted my first blog, Death of a Salesman or a Reincarnation. In the last 2+ years I have written about a variety of topics but I’ve mainly focused on sales related issues.  SOLDLAB.com has actually utilize a number of my posts, even naming me a Top Sales Innovator. (go figure)

Like all bloggers, some posts I like, and others, well not so much. I usually write about whatever happens to come to mind (aka, thought of the day) but sometimes I look to the topics that my readers seem to be interested in. Last year at about this time I wrote a post titled the Key to success… Persistence and Determination. For whatever reason, week in and week out, without fail, this particular post gets the most hits. It continues to be the most popular post I’ve ever written.

Why persistence and determination?

You can’t see it, you can’t measure it, and you certainly can’t teach it. Yet you can’t truly be successful without it. It’s what keeps you going when others quit.

I was looking though some of my old writings and I came across this poem I had written long ago. Since this seems to be my most popular topic, I thought I would share it.

Determination:

  • It’s a firm or fixed intention to achieve.
  • That takes relentless conviction, a desire to believe.
  • For determination takes passion and desire.
  • That only develops from an internal fire.
  • What enables the success that one shall seek,
  • A commitment to excellence that’s not for the weak.
  • Determination is an unwavering decision,
  • Of overcoming hesitation, and acting with precision.
  • Press on, move forward no matter what they say,
  • For it takes determination to overcome the obstacles in your way.

Your desires and dreams are only intentions if you don’t take action. The power of intentions relies on motivation and your motivation is defined by purpose and your determination. 17th Century Author and English Historian Thomas Fuller once wrote, “an invincible determination can accomplish almost anything and in this lies the great distinction between great men and little men.”

Determination . . . Do you have it?

Stay DETERMINED my friends

Stay DETERMINED my friends

Categories: Motivation

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

