Ask a few questions, gain a few answers, and move on!

MemberQuestions

It’s another Terrific Tuesday! For me it’s one of the best days of the selling week. Reality is, everyday is the best day of the week when you are in sales, but I digress.

For me, I especially like Tuesday’s because I start my day off with a SALES JOLT.

 

You may be familiar with the Ace of Sales, noted author, Jeffery Gitomer. He has written numerous sales, business, and personal development books. If you are in sales, I’m guessing you might have several of his books in your collection; The Sales Bible, The Little Red Book of Selling, and my personal favorite, The Little Gold Book of Yes! Attitude.

Every Tuesday morning,I receive his weekly sales newsletter, Sales Caffeine. (subscription based) It’s packed full of all kinds of information that is relevant to sales professionals and more importantly, it’s a great way to start off your sales day on a positive note. Today’s issue, and one article in particular (What keeps me up at night?None of your Business), really got me thinking; Thinking about the type and number of questions sales people ask.

Being a “seasoned” sales professional I have asked a lot of questions in my career. Some, what I think, are great questions, and some where I ask myself, “where the heck did that come from”? I can honestly say that I have never asked the lame question, “What keeps you up at night?”

confused-with-questions

The number of, and type of questions a sales person can or might ask seems to be almost limitless. However, you shouldn’t turn your meetings into an interrogation.

 

The key is in making sure that you are asking the right questions in the right situation. Questions that are relevant, thought provoking, and provide you, and the prospect with the information required to proceed (or not).

I plan on sharing my perspectives on the good, the bad, and the ugly, of sales questions in a future post. But for now, take a clue from the of The Ace of Sales:

“Don’t overdo the process. Ask a few questions, gain a few answers, and then move on.”

Categories: Sales, Technology

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

