Wait, . . . What?

Wait, . . .  What?

Wait, . . . What?

A little over two years ago, I started this blog. I have utilized it as an outlet to share my perspectives, views, and personal experiences on a variety of topics. I have written about sales, leadership, motivation, and yes, sometimes life in general. Today, I need to vent.

For the last 8 months I have been living the dream. Everything in my life seemed to be going well. On the personal side, things couldn’t be better. The Mrs. was happy (which is always important), kids lives were all going well, and I had my dream job.

I’ve been working for solid company, managing a great team of true “Sales Rock Stars”, selling solutions that are in high demand, wanted and needed in the marketplace. Given the short tenure of the team, the vertical market we are in, and the length of the sales cycle, I knew that it was going to take some time to get the business rolling.

At first, the business was slow in developing, but I truly believed in the team and the plan I had put in place.  In the last couple of months I could see that things were starting to fall into place. The pipeline was growing and the team was making significant progress. I could begin to see the proverbial “light at the end of the tunnel”.

Little did I know that light was a freight train and I would be plastered to the front of it like a misguided bug meeting a windshield on a hot summers night.

I get The Call. I hear those five dreaded words that we all hope will never be uttered, “your position has been eliminated”.

No details, no explanation, no nothing.  Wait, what? . . . .

It’s funny how sometimes life can throw you a curve ball. One day you are on the top of the world, things are going great and then in an instance, everything comes crashing down. You are busting your ass doing what you think is the “right thing” and then in an flash, you are toast. Discarded to the curb, like yesterday’s trash.

You want to brush it off and keep on keeping on. You tell yourself, “it’s not personal, it’s just business”. You pretend it doesn’t bother you but deep down, you just want to explode.

Confused and bewildered, you wonder, “What the hell just happened?” In your mind, you start going over everything, every detail, wondering, where did it all go wrong? Did you do everything possible? Did you given it you all? What could I or should I have done differently?

You hear people talk about the four stages of dealing with a traumatic event. Denial, anger,  depression, then finally acceptance. Getting to the acceptance part can be extremely difficult. You try to keep it together as you attempt to find the meaning, the reason; some sort of rational for why things are the way they are.

Well sometimes in life, shit just happens!

Don’t beat yourself up, don’t get mad, get even! Use the experience as motivation. Find the peace, accept what has happen, and move forward. Time to pick yourself up, dust off, and get back in the game.

Now, using a line from Forrest Gump, “that’s all I have to say about that”.

Categories: Sales

4 replies

  1. I’ve been there Bruce; it’s never an easy thing to hear. I wish I had a forum like this to vent, it’s healthy and therapeutic. Keep your head up – I’m sure you will. Everything happens for a reason! Take care!

    • Chris,

      Thanks for stopping by and for your comment. Usually I don’t post things like this but I figured what the heck, it’s my blog, right. You are right, things do happen for a reason. I always maintain a positive outlook and I know great things are ahead! At least now I can write a little more often 🙂

  2. Bruce,
    I look forward to your next blog describing the new exciting challenge that you have undertaken.

Leave a Reply

