The True Treasure. . . . Is the Sacrifice worth it?

As you head out the door today, pause for just a moment, and think about what you are doing and why you are doing it. Seriously, take a moment and really think. Think about what I like to call the “Why”.  As you chase that proverbial “pot of gold”, do you really know what you are giving up to get a head?  Are you doing it for the right reasons? Are you aware of what you are truly sacrificing for success?

As many of you know, I recently started a new chapter in my life. I am totally re-energized with a new career with an awesome organization in a whole new industry. New challenges and new opportunities; It’s fabulous.  The truth be known, I’m working my butt off and loving it!

Am I making sacrifices? You bet.

The “honey do” list is growing and I’ve missed some key events at home including, my son’s recent surgery.  I haven’t been as “Social” with my networking activities and yes, my writing has been limited

My travel schedule has been extensive, having spent 8 of the last 9 weeks on the road.  You know that you are traveling way to much when you’re on a first name basis with the TSA agents and the gate personnel at the airport. (a special shout out to Randall, Nancy, and the two Debbie’s in  Kansas City)

Lately I’ve been spending more time in a bed at the Marriott than I have in my own. I guess that’s why my lovely bride always tells people how happily married she is.

Am I complaining? Absolutely not! I love what I’m doing and I’m giving it everything I’ve got.

When I returned home from my most recent trip, I found the poem below on my desk.  It made me stop and really think.  So I thought I would share it with my readers.  Oh by the way, this poem was recently published and the author . . . My 15 year old son Alex.  Pretty profound for a hard hitting linebacker.

The True Treasure

Mounds of gold

Are what we are told

To gaze upon with adore

Yet there is more

It is something people abuse everyday

It goes so long without say

But without proper care it won’t stay

You shall never obtain

Until the dragon is slain

It shall never go down in vain

All the riches

Should belong in ditches

For this gift is the best

It is mounted across a crest

And inside of a chest

It is something you can’t chase

Comes together in an embrace

And slowly bound by lace

It is split between two

The greatest gift of all

Is who is next to you

We all have to make sacrifices to achieve success. Just make sure that what you are sacrificing is worth it.

Please feel free to share your comments and thoughts.

Categories: Views / Opinions

Tags: , ,

2 replies

  1. Great post Bruce. Fantastic read to start (or read around noon) a Friday!

Leave a Reply

