Change it up!

As many of you know I recently started a new position with a new company in a new industry. Fortunately, I love the job and I have a team of Sales Rock Stars that are extremely talented.  It’s been crazy and  I feel like I have been drinking from the proverbial fire hose as  I’ve had to put in a lot of hours  just to keep my head above water. As such, I’ve had to make some sacrifices including severely limiting my running schedule, writing time, and quality family time.

I’ve spent 5 of the last 6 weeks on the road. I’m traveling so much that I am on a first name basis with the gate agents and the TSA agents at the airport. The Marriott Courtyard has become my home away from home and I find myself longing for the comfort of my own chair in my own family room, not to mention my own bed.

No, I’m not complaining, but I feel that I’m not being a productive as I need to be. I don’t feel that I’m getting the results that I want and need in the time frame I had planned. It feels like something is missing. Dare I say it, I feel like I’ve lost my MOJO.

It’s Sunday afternoon, after a brief 40 hour visit at home, my wife is once again driving me back to the airport. As were driving she asked me what my week was going to be like. It was a fairly simple question, but one that stirred something deep inside me.  It was as if I had just received a wakeup call.

It’s time to do something different, time to shake things up. Time for the Zim-Master to get his ZEN on and get the mojo back. It’s time to Change things up!

In sales, it’s very easy to find yourself stuck in the same old same old. The motors running but you’re going nowhere. Get up read email, make a few calls, blah, blah, blah. Do it again tomorrow, and the day after, and the day after that. You’ve lost the passion, the enthusiasm, the positive attitude. To quote that old song, “you’ve lost that love’n feeling”.

Time to Change it up!

Get up a ½ an hour earlier and read a couple of blog posts. Instead of starting your day aimlessly scanning through email, try making a phone call to that big client you are targeting. If you call an executive before 8:00 chances are that he or she will answer their phone. Try calling one of your connections on LinkedIn. You might help make someone else’s day or find an opportunity that you didn’t know about.

Instead of making your scheduled allotment of phone calls from 10:00- 12:00, change it up and make break it in to five segments of time throughout the day. Instead of going to lunch with your buddies from the office, grab a sandwich and log on to a webinar, or take a prospect to lunch. Instead of heading back to the office at 4:00, make one or two more calls. Instead of making just one call at a specific location, utilize the T-formation (the building in front of you, the one to the right, and the one to your left) to make 3 more calls.

By changing things up or changing your routine, you open up a whole new world of possibilities. You find time that you didn’t think you had. You reignite the passion, the enthusiasm, the excitement that makes you who you are. Your family, co-workers, and more importantly, your clients will notice the difference. Sigmund Freud once said, “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting the different results”. If you want different results, Change it up!

Do you agree? What do you do to change it up? Please feel free to share your thoughts.

Categories: Motivation

Tags: , , ,

2 replies

  1. I’m a big believer in creating routines to help learn new tasks or jobs. That routine helps turn a twenty minute task into a 15 minute task. The problem is that too many people figure they still need twenty minutes so instead of taking that extra five to try a “new and different”, they stretch the task to fill the twenty. I’m a speaker and facilitator, always on the search for insight, ideas and new learning opportunities so downloading a new book, reading blogs, taking a writing class, or trying a new activity are all things I look for. Stretching my mind keeps me passionate about what I do.

Leave a Reply

