Obstacle or Opportunity?

As we all go about our daily lives, we occasionally  come across obstacles or roadblocks that stand in our way.  These roadblocks become decision points and the decision you make can and will affect the outcome of your journey.

When you face obstacles, do you try to fight through them and keeping moving forward? Do you let them deter you from your mission or where you were heading? Do you let these obstacles stop you or do you simply take a alternate approach?

Ask yourself, is this an obstacle or is it an opportunity?

For the past several months I have been dealing with numerous challenges in my life as I have had lot of different things going on. Its been really stressful as I’m facing some major decisions. Some good and some not so good, but the decisions I make will impact not only my future but the future of my family.

In an effort to figure it all out, I have been escaping (hiding out) to my property. It’s a section of land (a square mile, aka 640 acres) on the Colorado / Wyoming border. It’s nothing fancy, just little piece of heaven that my youngest son affectionately calls “Man-Land” as it lacks the modern conveniences that most women demand. It is a great place to do some serious thinking and it is basically a “technology free zone”. (No cell coverage, Internet, TV, or even running water)

This past weekend, I brought along a good friend of mine, who had heard my stories, but who had never been to “Man-Land”. Wanting to share all the natural beauty that my property has to offer, on Saturday morning we set out for a very long hike. About half way through the hike, we came across a slight challenge, an obstacle of sorts. The area I was trying to take him through, was really wet and muddy. At one point I actually found myself standing in mud up to my knees.

I tired several different options and ways of getting through this obstacle but it just wasn’t happening. I started looking for an alternate route, a way through the area but none was available. It was decision time, turn back, or figure out a way to overcome this seemingly impossible obstacle. It was one step forward and two steps back as we tried several different routes, only to find ourselves getting caught deeper in the muck. Finally I spotted a very large downed tree about 100 or so yards away. Getting to the tree was going to be difficult but it was the only option.

After what seemed like an eternity, we finally made it to the tree and crossed over.  As we worked our way back to the original route, we came across an old bicycle and telescope hidden in some trees. Now understand that I have been coming up to “Man-Land” for over thirty years and have hiked over most if not all of the property. I can honestly say that I have no idea how it got there, how long it’s been there, or even who’s bike and telescope this was. I felt like a kid on Christmas morning or a pirate that had just found a hidden treasure.

Lesson learned . . . .

We all face obstacles or roadblocks on our path in life. When you are faced with an obstacle(s) don’t be afraid to face it head on or to take a different approach. It might be a little uncomfortable and you might just find yourself knee deep in the muck, but if you persevere, you just might find a “hidden” gem that you didn’t know existed. I can say, without a doubt, that this little find rejuvenated my spirt and totally changed my outlook moving forward.

So on what I like to call “Motivational Monday”  I will leave you with a quote (from an unknown source)  that I came across regarding overcoming obstacles. I think it says it all.

“The truth is that our finest moments are most likely to occur when we are feeling deeply uncomfortable, unhappy, or unfulfilled.  For it is only in such moments, propelled by our discomfort, that we are likely to step out of our ruts and start searching for different ways or truer answers.”

Feel free to share your thoughts and comments.

 

Categories: Motivation

Tags: , ,

2 replies

  1. great post. It’s essential that we view obstacles as an opportunity to develop ourselves and our skills. Obstacles are an inherent part of life and without the desire and intention to make them work for us, we cannot be successful in the long run. But by getting empowered around our obstacles, we unlock our own potential and increase our capabilities.

    • Marie, thank you for stopping by and for taking the time to share your thoughts. Your comments are very profound and your wisdom is something that I could have used several weeks ago! I guess that it sometimes takes a few obstacles for us to truly, as you say,
      “unlock” our potential. Have an Awesome day!

Leave a Reply

