The Luckiest Man . . .


When I was going up I remember watching the movie,”Pride of the Yankees”.  Its the story about NY Yankee great Lou Gehrig. It was nominated for eleven Academy Awards in 1943, and is still regarded by many today as the finest baseball movie ever made. There is a scene in the movie where Lou Gehrig (played by Gary Cooper) is giving his farewell speech and he says:

 

“Fans, for the past two weeks you have been reading about a bad break I got. Yet today, I consider myself the luckiest man on the face of the earth.

Well today, that is exactly the way I feel. Yes, I have had my share of bad breaks over the last several months, (just like the scene from the movie) yet today, I consider myself the luckiest man on the face of the earth. Maybe it’s a tad bit of an exaggeration, (and probably little bit in bad taste to compare a dying mans tribute to my current circumstances) but I feel pretty damn lucky.

You see life is made up of series of events and happenings. Some good and some not so good. Some you wish you could block out forever. To be locked secretly away, permanently stashed, in your personal vault. Others times, you feel compared to share. Like a story that you absolutely know needs to be told. One that makes you want to climb to the top of the highest mountain and shout it out so everyone can hear.

Every now and again we are blessed with a special moment where you indeed “feel like the luckiest man on the face of the earth”. For me today is one of those days.

I just experienced the most incredible adventure! A wonderment of emotion, feeling, and enlightenment. A journey that will forever be in my memory.

No it wasn’t some extravagant vacation to an exotic island or far away land. Nor was it some kind of out of body experience.

Today, I had the opportunity to talk with (aka, interview) someone who I know will someday go down in history as a true sales legend! Someone who will ultimately be ranked up there with the sales greats; Zig Ziglar, Brian Tracy, Harvey McKay and the like.

A true, Sales Rock Star, the one and only (drum role please) Paul Castain.

 

 

 

 

Some of you may know him from his Rock Star blog, yoursalesplaybook.com Some of you may have even been fortunate to attend one of his sales training session. But for those of you who haven’t had the pleasure of being introduced to this Sale Rock Star, I want to strongly encourage you to learn more about him. Believe me, you won’t be sorry!

I personally was late to the party. Having only made the leap into social media a little over 18 months ago, I didn’t have a clue who this guy was. But once I discovered this incredible man and read his writings, I was hooked! He has lead me and thousands of others on an unbelievable journey. In preparation for my discussion with him today, I actual read every one of his blog post from the past 3 1/2 yrs. I’m here to tell you, it’s like reading the best book ever written. (no offense to the man upstairs)

So to my friends, fellow sales professional, and loyal readers here on my blog, I invite you, (if you haven’t already) to visit this Rock Star, Uncle Paul, at his website. I guarantee you won’t be disappointed. If fact, you will thank me!

PS – coming soon – “The Interview” staring none other than the JediMaster himself.

Please feel free to share you thoughts, comments, and lessons learn from this Rock Star.

 

Categories: Sales

1 reply

Trackbacks

  1. From the Heart, an Intentional Life. . . « Bruce Zimmerman . . .

Leave a Reply

