Focus on the What, not the How!

 

There are often times where you know that you need to get something accomplished but somehow, even with the best of intentions, you just don’t seem to be able to get it done. You look for reasons or even excuses as to why you can’t or don’t really need to do it. You think of that old saying, “why do today what you can put off until tomorrow.”

Stinkin Thinkin . . . Not good!

 

Today as I prepared for my morning run, for whatever ever reason I just wasn’t feeling it. I went through my normal pre-run routine but I was having trouble focusing on the task at hand. I found myself looking for excuses. Its cold out, it’s extremely windy, and I’ve got a lot of stuff to do today. But somehow I knew that I had to get this run in.

As I was running I kept having those thoughts of negativity. I couldn’t seem to get my stride right, I’m struggling with my breathing pattern, and ya, I was hurting. Hips, calfs, neck, everything was pointing to a reason to stop. Turn around, go home, maybe today just wasn’t your day.

Some how I kept on, but I knew if was going to accomplish what I set out to do, I had to change things up. Instead of running at my normal pace for the entire time, I decided to throw in some interval training. For those of you that don’t know what interval training is, it’s where you run at different speeds for a certain period of time. Starting out slow, then pick up speed in one minute intervals. Then you repeat the process over and over again.

Long story short, by changing things up and altering my routine I was able to push through all the excuses. I focused on the What not the How!

So what does this story have to do with anything? Think of it as a tale for when you are having trouble getting things done. Instead of finding excuses or reasons not to do something, change it up! Alter the routine, modify, and adjust to the circumstances.

Lesson learned. Sometimes in life, no matter what challenges you face, you have to adapt and improvise to achieve what you set out to accomplish. It’s ok to shake it up a little as long as you keep focused on the What not the How.

What do you do when things aren’t going your way? Do you change it up?

Let me know your thoughts. Feel free to share your comments.

Categories: Motivation

Leave a Reply

