It really is a wonderful life. . . .

 

 

 

 

 

 

Most of us have seen the timeless Christmas classic ” It’s a Wonderful Life”. The one where Clarence (the guardian angel) shows George all the lives he has touched and the contributions he has made to his community, and how different it would be had he never been born.

This wonderful story demonstrates how one person’s whole life and everything he did influenced so many other’s lives.  In real terms, it’s about how you matter, the lives you touch, and the impact you have on others.

Sometimes you just have to open your eyes and appreciate what you really have and how the world is better by having you in it.

Today, my eyes were opened to this very fact.

I received a call from one of my former colleagues to let me know that he had a conversation with one of my previous business contacts. It turns out that she didn’t know that I was no longer with the company. She shared some kind thoughts about me with him and asked that if I had the opportunity she would like to talk to me. I always enjoyed talking with her so I decided to call her to catch up.

Our conversation started out very casually but it quickly turned as she began talking about how disappointed she is that my former employer could let someone like me get away. I was actually quite flattered as she praised my professionalism, skills, and abilities. She went on to say what a pleasure it was to work with me and if there was anything she could do to help me out that I shouldn’t hesitate to ask.

Now this wasn’t the first discussion with a former client I’ve had since I was laid off. In fact I have had many calls from numerous clients that I have dealt with over the years. But this one was different, it was very humbling and this one really hit home. It made me realize that who I am and what I have to offer really does make a difference.

There are times in each of our lives where we wonder if what we are doing matters. When we question whether or not it is all worth it. When you get to this point, remember what is important and how fortunate you really are. Count your blessings and look at what you have accomplished and all the lives that you touch. Remember that you do matter, and you do impact the lives of others.

It truly is a wonderful life!

Categories: Motivation

Leave a Reply

