A look back on the year that was.

As I sit hear today, I can’t help but look back and reflect on what an incredible year it was in 2011. Did I strike it rich? Well no. At least not from a financial standpoint. But my life was truly enriched in 2011.

A year ago, when I was talking to one of my sales counterparts, he shared with me a conversation that he just had with our boss. He wasn’t having a great deal of success and the boss man told him that if he was going to continue in his position, he needed to re-invent himself. As our conversation continued, for whatever reason, the only thing that I could think of was ” you need to re-invent yourself”. Over and over I kept hearing, “you need to re-invent yourself”. It was as if the universe was telling me something.

Oliver Wendell Holmes once wrote; “It is the province of knowledge to speak, and it is the privilege of wisdom to listen.”

I figured the wise thing to do was to listen. Listen to those words that I kept hearing over and over in my head. Listen to what my heart was telling me. Listen to what the universe was telling me and believe in the laws of attraction. For whatever reason, 2011 was my time to re-invent.

A year ago at this time I had 21 connections on LinkedIn. I didn’t use social media and I certainly didn’t have a social network. Twitter and Facebook? Come on, isn’t that just for teenagers with over active hormones?  I didn’t really know what “personal branding” was.

As of today, I have almost 500 connections on LinkedIn. I have my own website, and yes, even a Facebook page. I have a generous following on Twitter with over 1500 tweets, and what probably gives me the most satisfaction, this blog.

Did I make a commitment to change? Did I accomplish what I set out to do? Did I re-invent myself?

Short answer; yes. I had the privilege of wisdom to listen.  But I would be remiss if I didn’t thank a few individuals that have made this journey possible.

First of all, thank you to Mike Demmert, friend and mentor, for helping me to get started.  With out your initial guidance I wouldn’t have known where to start.

Thank you to all my tweeps on Twitter for sharing your knowledge. Especially David Brock, @davidabrock, ( Partners in Excellence Blog) and Gary Hart, @SalesDuJour ,(Sales Dujour ) for your encouragement, wisdom, insight and inspiration. I have learned so much from both of you.

Thank you to Paul Castain, JediMaster and founder of Your Sales Playbook for teaching me what the social in social networking is all about. Your wit and sarcasm are always welcome! You are truly a Sales Rock Star!

A special thank you to my readers for allowing me to share my thoughts and perspectives. I appreciate you joining me on my journey of Continuous Innovation and Continuous Improvement as I continue to strive for excellence in this ever changing world. Your thoughts and comments are always welcome.

Finally, thank you to my friend and former co-worker Denis. For with out you sharing the words “re-invent yourself”, I wouldn’t have had such an exciting year!

Happy New Year and may 2012 bring you all the best!

Categories: Sales

1 reply

  1. Bruce, writing sage words like Oliver Wendell Holmes is beauty, taking actoin and performing are the marks of success. Personal growth is a lifelong endeavor that I am sure you will immerse yourself in. Thank you for invaluable advice and for including me in your post. 2012 is going to be a great year!

Leave a Reply

