Saturday morning reflections

It’s early Saturday morning; I’m the first one up. As I’m sitting here drinking a cup of coffee, I can’t help but notice how quite it is in the house.

Now normally, I would turn on the TV to see what’s happening in the world or even turn on some music and jump on-line. Check email, hit up Twitter or even go to LinkedIn. But today, I’m just sitting here enjoying my coffee and staring at the Christmas tree.

I’m looking at the collection of the various ornaments on the tree and remembering Christmas’s gone by. It’s like taking the preverbal trip down memory lane.

Each ornament reminds me of the different events in my life. Each one of the ornaments has a story. The hand made ones the kids so proudly made in school. The ones collected on various family trips. The special ones to reflect those special moments and times in life.

It reminds me of the song from the Talking Heads, “Days go by”‘ and the verse that says, “How did I get here. This is not my beautiful house, this is not my beautiful wife”.

It’s as if it’s a journey through time. A reflection of sorts.

This holiday season, as the year winds down, take the time to reflect. Think about all the good things and the good times in your life.

Think about all that is important to you and your family. Take the time to reflect and count your blessings. Reflect on all that you have accomplished and how far you have come.

Life is a journey, enjoy the ride.

And now, as Forrest Gump would say, “That’s all I have to say about that”.

Categories: Views / Opinions

Leave a Reply

