What’s your commitment?

Today, as I sat watching the Sunday pre game shows for the upcoming NFL week, I wondered whether or not I should go for my scheduled run.

Yes, it’s that time of year where I begin my training schedule for my favorite annual event, the Colorado Marathon. I call it an event because I certainly don’t run as fast as I used to and to call it a race, well that’s just wrong.

Anyway, I am sitting there contemplating should I, or shouldn’t I? Yes, the event is over 5 months away. Would it be easy to skip it, to blow it off?  You bet! Hey, it’s only one day. Why not take it easy today?

The excuses are plentiful. It’s cold outside, there’s 8″ of snow in my front yard, you know the streets will be slick. Besides there’s a good football game on, and hey, after all, I’m still recovering from recent surgery.

Yada yada, yada!

What’s that saying? Excuses are for losers!

So as I’m running (yes I did it!), I’m thinking about the word “commitment” and what it means to commit to something. Now, there’s a big difference between having an interest in something and being committed to it. When you’re interested in doing something, you do it only when circumstance permit. When you’re committed to something, you accept no excuses, only results.

Commitment is a promise, an oath. No matter whether it is a business commitment, a personal commitment, or a commitment to yourself, it means committing to the results.

Commitment is about saying what you will do and then doing it.

Think for a minute about what you are doing. Think about the goals you have set for yourself and what it really means to make a commitment. Are you fully committed to delivering the desired results? Are you truly committed or is it just a casual interest?

Categories: Motivation

Leave a Reply

