Working on the wrong stack of mail?

When I first decided to start this blog, my goal was to write about the sales professional, digital printing,  general business, and related topics and trends. Since I write after I run, I usually write about what I think about during my run.  Normally, I think about the topics listed and what is going on in the industry, but today is going to be a little different. Let me apologize in advance if you disagree with me, but I am all fired up!

As I was getting ready to head out the door for my morning run,  the TV was on and I heard the latest on the jobs report. Dismal, disappointing, surprising were the words that were used by the folks on CNBC.  Now I know that the golden rule in most situations is to not talk about religion or politics.  But . . . I feel I have to express my opinion on a couple of things.

First of all, is it just me or do you think that our politicians just don’t get it  Sure there are numerous issues of importance in our society today. Yes, we need to be concerned or worried about our national debt, taxes, national defense, terrorism, healthcare, Medicare, Social Security,  and other various important social issues;  but I just think that our politicians are working on the wrong stack of mail.

Obviously, are politicians have memory loss.  A simple Google search will tell you that the most important issues to Americans heading into the 2010 midterm elections, were almost all related in some way to the health of the U.S. economy. Between January 2009 and October 2010, none of the major economic indicators improved much, perhaps because President Barack Obama was focused more on unrelated issues such as health care and immigration reform. Besides the economy, there really was no way to properly rank the issues facing the average person since they’re highly subjective and their importance varies from demographic to demographic and from area to area.  However, our politicians seem to have forgotten that the last election was about JOBS, JOBS, JOBS!  

Currently there are estimated 14.1 million American out of work. To put that into perspective, that’s approximately  the combined populations of most of my Sales Region, which includes, Colorado, Wyoming, Montana, Idaho, Utah, New Mexico, and Arizona. The “Official” unemployment rate is stated to be 9.2%. The Labor Department’s statistics don’t include the underemployed and those who have stopped looking for work. It also doesn’t take into account the part-time workers who would prefer to work full-time. This alternative measure creates a much higher number, projected to be anywhere from 16.6% to 22%.  Hello, does anyone get it?

As someone once stated “It’s the economy stupid”! Since World War II,  no President has ever been re-elected with a unemployment rate above 7.2%. I would venture to guess that things don’t look to promising for the President and the members of Congress that are up for re-election. I guess that is “Change We Can Believe In”!

Finally, there is so much fear, uncertainty, and doubt in the country today.  Yes,  there are many important issues that need to be addresses.  But if you are secure in knowing that you have a roof over your head and you can put food on the table for you and your family, then everything else can be dealt with.  If people have jobs and they aren’t afraid they’re going to lose them, then it creates a different mindset.  It all starts with JOBS.  All the talk about shared sacrifice and folks having to tighten their belts is ridiculous! What do these politicians think has been going on for the last several years?  If folks tighten their belts any more, they won’t be able to breathe.

I’m reminded of  a skit from the late night comedy show, Saturday Night Live.  On Weekend Update, Kenan Thompson plays Oscar Rogers; a Financial Analyst, whose only advice is to FIX IT!  

The number one issue that needs to addressed in the country today, (as it has been for the last 3 years) is JOBS, JOBS, JOBS! Are leaders are working on the wrong stack of mail. So in the words of Oscar Rogers, FIX IT!

Categories: Views / Opinions

Leave a Reply

